Spicy Chai Banana Carrot Quick Bread

My day started off to the sight of a bunch of ripe bananas, spotted with brown. “Brilliant,” I thought. “I can make banana bread.” I finally decided on chai banana bread, perfect for spicy autumn. Little did I know that when I came back to bake later, the bananas had slowly been eaten by my thieving family. Being the impatient person I am, I hurtled straight into the recipe anyway and – guess what – found I did not have enough bananas! I didn’t want to add more oil, and considering that it was autumn and the bread was spicy, I decided the best thing to do was sub in grated carrot and it turned out delicious.

img_5289img_5291

Ingredients:

  • 230 grams of spelt flour
  • 1 teaspoon bicarbonate soda
  • 3/4 of a teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 of a teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons of  cinnamon
  • 1/2 a teaspoon of cardamom
  • 1/2 a teaspoon of ginger
  • 1/2 a teaspoon of cloves
  •  1 tablespoon of molasses
  • 3 tablespoons of milk of  your choosing
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 3 1/2 tablespoons of  melted coconut oil
  • 1 1/2 of a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar
  • 40 grams of maple syrup
  • 40 grams of black-strap molasses
  • 300 grams of mashed bananas
  • 200 grams of grated carrots

(Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Grease a loaf tin)

Method

  1. Mix the dry ingredients in one bowl well, making sure that the spices are incorporated evenly in the flour.
  2. In another bowl, mix all the wet ingredients together.
  3. Next, pour the wet ingredients into the dry and stir until they are just combined.
  4. Pour the mixture into the loaf tin and bake for 30 minutes.
  5. Wait until mostly cool and then slice.
Leave a Reply

